Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Selene Bahadoor

Selene Bahadoor, the first eyewitness to the shooting to testify, took the stand at the end of Tuesday’s proceedings. Bahadoor said she isn’t sure herself what she saw and heard that night.

A resident of Zimmerman’s gated community, Bahadoor testified that she looked out her kitchen window that night after hearing a noise.

“It was not clearly distinguishable, but it sounded like, ‘No’ or ‘Uhhh’ – that’s what it sounded like,” said Bahadoor. She also heard “something hitting the concrete, it sounded like running.”

She said the view from her kitchen window was blocked, so she moved to the sliding glass doors at the back of her townhome.

“I saw what looked as figures and arms flailing,” said Bahadoor. She says it was too dark for her to identify the individuals or to clearly see what position they were in.

Bahadoor said a neighbor offered to call police and she went back inside to turn off her stove. That’s when she heard the gunshot.

Prosecutor Bernie de la Rionda asked her what she saw upon her return to the glass doors.

“It was just a body in the grass,” said Bahadoor. “I remember it being face down.”

Defense attorney Mark O’Mara called Bahadoor’s motives into question when he pointed out to jurors that she signed a petition on Change.org in favor of prosecuting Zimmerman.

** Today Judge Nelson has ruled that the five calls Zimmerman made reporting other suspicious people in his neighborhood will be admissible. An alternate juror has been dismissed for reasons unrelated to the trial.

Prosecutor Bernie De La Rionda called Jayne Surdyka to the stand. She was living in the Zimmerman’s neighborhood, Resort at Twin Lakes, at the time of the shooting.

She said she got up to close the window of her townhome, because it was raining on Feburary 26, 2012. Shortly after closing the window, she heard a loud “dominant” voice. After hearing the voices, she opened a window and could see into the courtyard. “All I could really hear. You know I guess I expected to open the window and like hear a conversation going on. But it really wasn’t like someone out there just talking. When I opened the window I heard a very aggressive voice. Someone sounded very angry, very agitated, and that kind of struck me. I don’t know why I didn’t hear the words”.

Surdyka said she shut off the lights in her townhome so she could see into the courtyard better. “I could see two people one the ground. One on top of each other.” She said the last yelp she heard was made by the “boy” in her opinion. “I heard like from my window a pop, pop, pop, You know I don’t know what a gun really sounds like.”